Research & development

Wystrach Produkte Gastransport Fahrzeugbau

Pre-assembled H2 tank systems for the world’s first hydrogen fuel cell train

Wystrach supplies tank systems for Alstom’s Coradia iLint

High-pressure systems specialist Wystrach is providing the tank systems for full-scale production of Alstom’s Coradia iLint. “We’re delighted that Alstom awarded us the contract for this prestigious project,” Wystrach managing director Jochen Wystrach says. In its capacity as a systems supplier, Wystrach is providing the components pre-assembled for installation at Alstom’s production facility in Salzgitter.

“For each railcar, we supply two fuel tank compositions (FTCs), each consisting of four modules plus a control system, which were specially developed for installation on the roof of the trains,” explains Wolfgang Wolter, also managing director at Wystrach. With a full tank, the Coradia iLint has a range of around 1,000 kilometers.

The Coradia iLint is the world’s first passenger train powered by a hydrogen fuel cell. In July 2018, the new train became the first of its kind to receive approval for passenger service in Germany. Two models of the train have been in regular service in Lower Saxony for ten months now, both producing zero CO2 emissions. The trains have now completed over 100,000 kilometers in commercial operation and Dr. Jörg Nikutta, Managing Director for Germany and Austria at Alstom, is “thoroughly satisfied” with how they are performing.

With Lower Saxony’s regional public transport organization, Landesnahverkehrsgesellschaft Niedersachsen, having ordered 14 of the hydrogen-powered trains, its Hessian counterpart, Rhein-Main-Verkehrsverbund (RMV), has now followed suit: in May 2019, RMV ordered 27 Coradia iLints—the largest fleet of fuel cell trains in the world.

More details

Tank systems for buses, trucks, and trains for operation with hydrogen, CNG, or other gasesn

Wystrach tank systems are compatible with different technologies: they can incorporate cylinders from all major manufacturers. In addition to our standard range of products, we also offer custom-made tank system solutions. We are happy to assist you throughout the entire process, from specifying requirements and engineering the systems all the way to approval. Our experienced team will work closely with you to find the best solution for your needs.

pdf data sheet

Forschung & Entwicklung

Wystrach Produkte Gastransport Fahrzeugbau

Einbaufertige H2-Tanksysteme für weltweit ersten Wasserstoff-Brennstoffzellenzug

Wystrach liefert Tanksysteme für Alstoms Coradia iLint

Die Tanksysteme für die Serienproduktion von Alstoms Coradia iLint liefert der Hochdrucksystemexperte Wystrach. „Wir freuen uns, den Zuschlag von Alstom für dieses Prestigeprojekt erhalten zu haben“, so Jochen Wystrach, Geschäftsführer bei Wystrach. Als Systemlieferant steuert Wystrach einbaufertige Komponenten bei, die in der Alstom-Produktion in Salzgitter montiert werden.

„Wir liefern für jeden Triebwagen zwei FTCs (Fuel Tank Composition) aus jeweils vier Modulen samt Regelstrecke, die eigens für den Bauraum auf dem Dach der Züge entwickelt wurden“, so Wolfgang Wolter, ebenfalls Geschäftsführer bei Wystrach. Mit einer Tankfüllung hat der Coradia iLint eine Reichweite von rund 1000 Kilometern.

Der Coradia iLint ist der weltweit erste Personenzug, der mit einer Wasserstoff-Brennstoffzelle betrieben wird. Im Juli 2018 hat der neue Zug als erster überhaupt die Zulassung zum Fahrgastbetrieb in Deutschland erhalten. Seit zehn Monaten sind zwei Modelle des CO2-emissionsfreien Zugs im regulären Fahrgastbetrieb in Niedersachsen unterwegs. Nach 100.000 gefahrenen Kilometern im Echtbetrieb zeigte sich Dr. Jörg Nikutta, Geschäftsführer von Alstom Deutschland und Österreich, mit der Leistung „absolut zufrieden“.

Nach der Landesnahverkehrsgesellschaft Niedersachsen, die 14 Wasserstoffzüge bestellt hat, hat auch der hessische Rhein-Main-Verkehrsverbund (RMV) die neuen Triebwagen geordert: Im Mai 2019 bestellte der RMV mit 27 Coradia iLint-Fahrzeugen die weltweit größte Brennstoffzellenzug-Flotte.

Weitere Informationen

Wystrach-Tanksysteme für Busse, LKW und Züge für den Betrieb mit Wasserstoff, CNG oder anderen Gasen

Wystrach-Tanksysteme sind technologieoffen: Behälter aller gängigen Hersteller sind verbaubar. Neben einer standardisierten Produktpalette bieten wir kundenindividuelle Tanksystem-Lösungen an. Wir begleiten Sie durch den kompletten Prozess: vom Anforderungsprofil über das Engineering bis zur Zulassung. Unser erfahrenes Team findet im engen Austausch mit Ihnen die beste Lösung für Ihren Bedarf.

pdf Datenblatt